Review: Hotel Otto, Berlin

On our recent trip to Berlin we stayed in the gorgeous Hotel Otto on the west side of the city, right near the zoological gardens. It’s been a long time since I’ve been so impressed by a budget-friendly hotel, and I couldn’t recommend the place more.

I’ll start with the bedroom (which honestly, is more like a mini studio / apartment). It’s specious, modern and very ‘ikea’ – which I loved. I loved the big bright windows, juliette balcony, polished floors and minimalist decor.

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 11.33.35

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 11.34.07

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 11.34.24

The room has a bathroom, mini hallway, lovely little kitchen and seating area. The whole feeling of the place is more like an AirBnB than a hotel room – which suits me and Pad loads. We like feeling like we’ve got our own little place in a city, and this place really made us feel like we were living in our own little Berlin hideaway.

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 11.34.44

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 11.35.01

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 11.35.17

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 11.39.57

Another thing that made this hotel seriously awesome, was the location. The location of the hotel was enough to convince me and Pad moving to Berlin would be something awesome to do. You know when you find yourself in a neighbourhood you just adore? That’s what this place is like.

The hotel is right near a local courtyard square, that is filled with restaurants and bars and coffee shops, and then coming off that square, in all the surrounding roads are just as many lovely eateries and bars too. Seriously, I can’t do justice in words how good the location of this place is. Multiple times throughout our stay, I would turn to Pad and just be like…

“I could totally live here” 

“Shall we move here?” 

“Seriously Pad, if I spoke German I’d want to move here” 

“Can we stay, forever?”

Other peoples views on the hotel and location seem to match ours too, check out some reviews here.

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 11.40.16

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 11.40.31

For me, the local neighbourhood felt a bit like Paris, but safer, cleaner and cheaper.

All good things, right?

Another thing that I loved about the hotel was the little bonuses and extras. They have breakfast which is optional (and you pay a bit extra for having it included), but they also have ‘afternoon tea’ too. Their afternoon is found in the breakfast room (pictured below) from 2pm until 9pm and is completely free for ALL GUESTS. It consists of sandwiches, cakes (which I become kind of obsessed with – see the photos below), biscuits, tea, coffee, champagne (YES!) and juice.

I love hotels that do something a bit different like this. We’d get back from sightseeing, and be able to nip up to the roof lounge for afternoon tea (just to fill the gap) and that’d keep us full until our tea in the evening. It saved us cash, and also it was delicious.

Yay for both those things. 

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 11.40.50

Rooftop view from the breakfast lounge. Pretty nice huh?

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 11.42.24

Below is the amazing German cake / biscuit yumminess that I fell in love with. It was like jam sandwiched between wholemeal biscuity cakey stuff. If anyone knows what this is called please comment below! I am dying to try it at home!

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 11.42.38

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 11.44.10

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 11.44.23

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 11.44.49

So overall? If you’re going to Berlin, stay here!

It’s in a quiet, safe, central neighbourhood with loads of eating choices – and it’s within walking distance of 3 different train stations (2-5 minutes depending on which you choose to use).

The staff are friendly, it feels like a young, quirky, boutique hotel – and it has a good vibe too.

VERY HAPPY CUSTOMERS! 

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 11.45.00

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 11.43.29

Oh, and this is totally random and hilarious, but they had a ‘SURPRISE’ button in the lift. You literally have no idea what it’s going to do until you gather up the courage to push it. It’s brilliant – all lifts should install one of these.

I won’t tell you what it does… that ruins the fun! 

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 16.31.14

Also on the note of hotels and booking hotels, I wanted to mention a cool scheme I recently got introduced to, called the Bonus+ programme from eBookers. eBookers are a massive brand (reliable and trustworthy – which is always important to me) and this new scheme means the more you book with them – the more you get.

Why is this good? Well, eBookers have loads of bookable things on their sites, it’s not just hotels – it’s flights, cruises, cars, insurance… all of that stuff you might need if going away on a trip like the one I just took to Berlin. When you buy a flight, you then get immediate credit to put towards a hotel.

I never used to feel the need to share info about this kind of money saving trick, but since we began saving for a wedding (which is SO HARD!) – I feel the need to spread the word about ways you can make cash go a little bit further, especially when travelling.

If you have any other little tips, let me know in the comments!

Share:

7 Comments

  1. Kelly Knight September 9, 2015 / 7:46 pm

    That hotel view and the food looks amazing!! I thought the hotel room could have been a little better looking but it was cute. The bed is definitely intereting, I’ve never seen a bed like that before. You are very fortunate tonbe able to travel to all these place and it’s nice to see you sharing your tips on money saving. Thanks 🙂

    • Elle-Rose Williams September 12, 2015 / 4:37 pm

      Hey Kelly – yeah the room was super functional and cute. Not luxury – but that’s not really the vibe they’re going for. I loved it – it had everything we needed 🙂

  2. Jennifer September 11, 2015 / 3:52 am

    This looks like an amazing getaway! You are so lucky to travel and see the world. Berlin is one of those places I really want to see; hopefully will someday.

    • Elle-Rose Williams September 12, 2015 / 4:36 pm

      I hope you do visit, it’s a beautiful city – and of course it’s a beautiful hotel too!

  3. Nick Crosby September 12, 2015 / 1:34 pm

    Loved the review. The place looks like it offers immense peace along with equal degrees of fun as well. All the outside views you put of the place just deserves one word — Elegance. This place and the hotel is so me. Like you, I too would jump on the opportunity to stay permanently at this very hotel. Cool staff, class a part surroundings, great in-house facilities… what more can we ask for. Awesome, indeed!

    • Elle-Rose Williams September 12, 2015 / 4:36 pm

      Hey Nick! Glad you liked the review and I hope you get to visit soon! 🙂

  4. Lucy Edwards December 4, 2016 / 6:24 pm

    Thanks for the recommendation (on the UK Bloggers Facebook group), I stayed at the Hotel Otto about 3 weeks ago and it was fab, really pleased we stayed here. Now I know what the ‘surprise’ button does!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *