Review: The Redbury Hotel Hollywood – Los Angleles

My first stop on the West Coast during my recent USA roadtrip was the beautiful Redbury Hotel Hollywood in Los Angeles. I’d actually flown into Las Vegas (as the Virgin Atlantic Premium Economy was too good to pass up) so once I’d landed from that 10 hour flight, I then had to endure another 7 hours drive to Los Angeles.

I know I could’ve flown and got a connecting flight, but flying solo unsettles me and one ten hour flight was enough for one day!

After a solid 28 hours of no sleep, I arrived (like the stereotypical weary traveller) at the hotel reception desk. I was greeted by a lovely guy, dressed head to toe in the most trendy hipster tweed outfit that has ever existed and actually MATCHED the hotel (I would later learn that all the reception staff wear this style, and it’s awesome).

Screen Shot 2014-07-30 at 19.11.16.png_effected

The Redbury Hotel Hollywood is all about style and those little details, and totally plays up on the old hollywood vibe. It feels like you’re stepping into a film set as soon as you enter the building.  In fact – I even managed to do my first bit of sightseeing before I’d even checked in, as the walk of fame runs right past the front door.

James Dean’s star was a few feet from the entrance – which was a nice surprise!

Screen Shot 2014-07-30 at 19.11.25.png_effected

Screen Shot 2014-07-30 at 19.11.36.png_effected

So, it’s 1am and after 10 hours on a plane and 6 on a mini-bus I’m making the final stretch to the hotel room. I was hoping for something good. Or at least a comfy bed.

What I got was both of those things, and then some.

It was epic.

IMG_8277.JPG_effected

Oh hello 4-poster bed. You will conquer my jetlag.

IMG_8299.JPG_effected

Everything in the hotel room was all about ease and comfort. The bed was so wide I could lay across it, stretch out my arms, and still not be touching either end. The bathroom had a feel of a walk-in closet, with a HUGE (probably the biggest I’ve ever seen) walk-in shower. It was so big you could hang your clothes at the other end of the shower (good for getting creases out Pad tells me) and the clothes wouldn’t even get splashed.

The room was all open plan, with a big living area (TV, record player, you name it….) and a dining table at one end. The decor is like walking into a ‘Good Homes’ Magazine shoot.

IMG_8317

Screen Shot 2014-08-02 at 20.14.59.png_effected

I kind of fell in love with the dimply wine glasses above. I was all the inner strength I had not to pinch them when I left.

Screen Shot 2014-08-02 at 20.15.24.png_effected

In between the bedroom area and the living room is the open plan kitchen and breakfast bar. The breakfast bar is so big it could happily seat 4 people – so the room would be perfect for groups of friends looking for a place to entertain before heading out to enjoy LA nightlife. The room even had a spacious balcony to relax on too.

Good for long term guests too – as there was an oven, hob, fridge, kettle, etc – so if you were there for a week or longer and didn’t fancy eating out every night you’d easily be able to cook up something delicious in the kitchen.

IMG_8324.JPG_effected

Screen Shot 2014-08-02 at 20.16.24.png_effected

The hotel felt lovely and lively in the evening, and the hotel has a really popular bar and bustling restaurant on the ground floor. You’d have thought this would be bothersome and loud – but not at all. The noises from these area didn’t pass into the hotel at all – certainly not the part of the hotel I was in, anyhow.

How did The Redbury Hotel Hollywood rate for location? 

It’s right in the heart of Hollywood, Los Angeles and the walk of fame goes right past the front door, so you couldn’t ask for a better location. Located on the corner of Hollywood and Vine, it’s about a 15/20 minute walk to the Chinese theatre (depending on how quick you like to go!), and a 20 minute down to Paramount Studios. Remember – Los Angeles IS MASSIVE and even if somewhere looks like a 5 minute walk on the map, it’s probably 15 minutes in reality.

One big plus point was that there was one of the hop-on hop-off bus stops 2 minutes from the door. This made a big difference for me, as it was my main way of getting around during my time there. So made everything super convenient.

In terms of shops and stuff for food, there was a Starbucks across the road along with a few other coffee shops and newsagents. No big supermarket within walking distance – but if you had a car that wouldn’t be an issue.

Screen Shot 2014-07-30 at 19.10.59

Screen Shot 2014-08-02 at 20.07.37.png_effected

Screen Shot 2014-08-02 at 20.17.09.png_effected

So would I recommend The Redbury Hotel Hollywood?

YES.

It’s glamorous, gorgeous and feels like everything you’d expect from a luxury hotel in LA. If I’m ever back in the city, it’s where I would stay, no questions asked.

Did you like the photos featured in this blog post? Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram @TheWorldAndThenSome where I post lots more gorgeous photos from my travels!

Share:

10 Comments

  1. Mark R September 10, 2015 / 3:30 pm

    The design and atmosphere is very sophisticated. Just from the outside you can see how they had a “cartoonish” effect with the curtain painting.What I like about this one is if you’re a tourist and don’t want to spend too much eating outside, you have the option of cooking in. When I travel, I’d rather spend for drinks and talk to people.

    • Elle-Rose Williams September 12, 2015 / 4:46 pm

      Yeah, it’s great to have both options – the kitchen was really helpful on those nights when I was too tired to go out.

  2. Jennifer September 11, 2015 / 2:33 am

    It looks like it’s in a great location. You can’t get better than having the walk of fame right outside your hotel! Speaking of the hotel, it looks like something out of the movies. It looks cozy and comfortable. Just the perfect place to stay in a city that never sleeps such as Los Angeles.

    • Elle-Rose Williams September 12, 2015 / 4:45 pm

      Hey Jennifer, thanks for commenting! Yeah the location was perfect – amazing to have one of the biggest tourist attraction literally right outside the hotel! 🙂

  3. Allie September 11, 2015 / 7:01 pm

    I LOVE the look of this hotel! All those retro details in the room – how cool. I have cousins in Los Angeles, I’m going to bookmark this for the next time I visit them. It looks like a great place to stay. Jealous!

    • Elle-Rose Williams September 12, 2015 / 4:45 pm

      Hey Allie! It was the retro details I loved most too! 🙂

  4. Mark Willis September 12, 2015 / 2:49 pm

    Beautiful pics of the stunner of a hotel. Right from the funky outer looks to the extremely stylishly done interiors, the Redbury hotel packs a solid punch and is in complete sync with the feel of the Hollywood city. I’m pretty sure you had a gala time staying there as is evident from the pics and your review. It’s surely gonna be on the back of my mind whenever I’m in L.A. next. Thanks!

    • Elle-Rose Williams September 12, 2015 / 4:44 pm

      I hope you visit Mark, you won’t be disappointed 🙂

  5. Tina Johnson September 12, 2015 / 5:00 pm

    I just found you blog looking for reviews of this hotel. We are looking for a location for my daughters wedding. This looks perfect and the character of it really suits her personality.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *